For the Love of Fantasy

In middle school I was a twi-hard. And yes, that is appropriate terminology *face palm*.

Needless to say, I was obsessed with Twilight. I watched the movie far too many times, I had Bella and Edward as my computer background, I had a t-shirt, a poster, and I even bought shoes that looked like Bella’s from the movie. As embarrassing as it may sound, I am happy that this fanatic phase of mine occurred. You see, when I fell in love with Twilight, I fell in love with books.

Over the years, I have read many, many books. Although I did read fantasy in my youth, I ventured more into adult fiction, particularly mysteries and psychological thrillers, in my adulthood. I have read some amazing books in this genre – as you may well know, Ruth Ware is my favorite author and she is notorious for her mystery novels. However, recently something has changed. And what created that change is BookTok.

Yep. During the pandemic, I downloaded the app TikTok and now I have found myself swarmed with book content on my account. Through watching these various posts, I realized that most of these creators have one thing in common: A love for Sarah J. Maas. Prior to joining BookTok, I had never heard of this author before. I watched months – literal months – of content about Maas and the book series’ she has written. Although the love and admiration for these books piqued my interest, I didn’t ever take the leap of reading them because I thought YA Fantasy was not for me.

Until one day when I ventured into Half Priced Books on a break during the work day. As I scanned shelves, I dared to venture to the YA section, and there I found A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. It was only five dollars, so I figured why not? And oh my… the book changed my reading styles for months to follow! ACOTAR follows the story of a woman named Feyre Archeron who is brought to reside in the faerie lands after killing a faerie. It is kind of like a Beauty and the Beast retelling in a sense. Maas brings the story to life, making it a book that you cannot put down!

As soon as I finished the first book, my husband ordered the second. He kept me supplied with each novel in the series as I devoured them. Currently, I am waiting for snow to melt so I can venture out safely to purchase the newest novel in the series, A Court of Silver Flames.

The first four novels in the ACOTAR series follows the story of Feyre Archeron, but the fifth and newest installment in the series follows another character in the same world. Fans of ACOTAR and Maas are in a frenzy right now with theories about the newest book and are reading it like wildfire!

“To the stars who listen and the dreams that are answered.”

Sarah J. Maas

Reading allows us to choose our own adventure in a sense. We receive the opportunity to explore different worlds, meet different characters, and live many, many lives. If you are anything like me, you become the main character as you read the story. Books where you are entirely enveloped into the story are the very best.

If you find yourself in a reading slump, ACOTAR is a great way to pull yourself out of it and find a love for reading again! If you have read the series, drop a comment below or let me know on IG. If you haven’t read it, you definitely should. Also, drop a comment to let me know what your favorite book or series is! I’d love to find more good reads.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s